At last, a start

     I never thought I was the kind of person who was defined by my job.  I was a government paper pusher for 20 years before I got a job in IT.  But when I had to quit work because of the side effects of the drugs used to treat my leukemia, I seem to have lost all identity and sense of purpose.

     So now I find myself old and useless looking for something to do in the few hours I have in a day when I feel like doing anything at all.  Unfortunately my good hours are not the same each day and I have not found anyone who wants part time help from 3 am to 7 am on Monday, 4 pm to 8 pm on Wednesday and noon to five pm on Friday.

     What do I do with myself?  I have always loved to read, consuming 4 to 6 books weekly.  One of the side effects I now suffer is swollen eyelids which make my vision continuously watery and blurry which in turn makes my head ache if I try to read for more than a few minutes at a time.  So now I can slog through a book in just under two weeks and have lots of spare time wanting occupation.

     Because of other health issues (which I’ll expound upon later when I can cue the violin music) I lead a fairly sedentary life.  Although the good news is that I was able recently to give up my walker, I have had to cross off my list hiking the Appalachian Trail and skydiving.

     I’d love to learn how to build furniture, but I was denied the opportunity to take shop in school – it was only for boys (anyone want to start a rant about that?) – and I am not very good with my hands.  But I have learned how to make simple origami bookmarks.  I hand these out wherever I go and give them away in bookstores and libraries.  I like to find teachers willing to give them to their pupils as reading rewards.  One day as I entered a bookstore to refill their supply an employee exclaimed, “Here comes the bookmark lady!”  Well that was better than being known as the out of work neighbor or God forbid, the cancer patient, so I started referring to myself as the bookmark lady.

       So this is where we are starting.  I’ll try to post at least a thought  for each day and keep the rambling to a minimum.  I guess this is the new way to journal.  So hang on, let’s see where it takes us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Change occurs so fast there are days when the person who says it can’t be done is interrupted by the person who is doing it.

Leave a Reply

